2023 NBA awards race: Embiid’s MVP push, picks for every award

James Harden, Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers Mandatory Credit: Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports
James Harden, Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers Mandatory Credit: Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports /
2 of 8
(Photo by Ron Jenkins/Getty Images)
(Photo by Ron Jenkins/Getty Images) /

Next season, the NBA will (finally) enact postionless All-NBA teams. That will help voters avoid the unfortunate conundrum of the last two seasons, in which Embiid has finished second team All-NBA despite also being the second-place finisher in MVP voting, all because his primary MVP opponent happens to play the same position.

Technically, both Embiid and Jokic are eligible at center AND forward for voting purposes. But, the final positional designation from the league depends on where a player receives the most votes. Both Embiid and Jokic will receive the majority of their votes at center and therefore be designated at center.

With that in mind, is there really any point in making a ballot that has both on first team All-NBA, even if it’s deserved? My general opinion is yes, but since it would not be reflective of the actual voting process, this ballot will follow the illogically strict and unforgiving positional restraints the league is soon doing away with.

All-NBA first team

G — Luka Doncic, Mavericks

G — Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Thunder

F — Jayson Tatum, Celtics

F — Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks

C — Nikola Jokic, Nuggets

All-NBA second team

G — Damian Lillard, Trail Blazers

G — Donovan Mitchell, Cavaliers

F — Jimmy Butler, Heat

F — Lauri Markkanen, Jazz

C — Joel Embiid, 76ers

All-NBA third team

G — Stephen Curry, Warriors

G — James Harden, 76ers

F — Jaylen Brown, Celtics

F — Julius Randle, Knicks

C — Domantas Sabonis, Kings

All-Defensive first team

G — Jrue Holiday, Bucks

G — Alex Caruso, Bulls

F — Jaren Jackson Jr., Grizzlies

F — Bam Adebayo, Heat

F — Evan Mobley, Cavaliers

All-Defensive second team

G — Derrick White, Celtics

G — Herb Jones, Pelicans

F — OG Anunoby, Raptors

F — Draymond Green, Warriors

F — Brook Lopez, Bucks

All-Rookie first team

G — Jaden Ivey, Pistons

G — Jalen Williams, Thunder

F — Keegan Murray, Kings

F — Paolo Banchero, Magic

F — Walker Kessler, Jazz

All-Rookie second team

G — Andrew Nembhard, Pacers

G — Bennedict Mathurin, Pacers

F — AJ Griffin, Hawks

F — Jeremy Sochan, Spurs

F — Jalen Duren, Pistons